From Blackboards to SmartBoards

Standard
Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 9.55.06 AM

New Interactive SmartBoard Writing

Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 9.55.49 AM

Traditional Whiteboard Writing

Technology is everywhere and the use of technology has been rising at a rapid pace for several years now and does not seem as though it is going to taper off any time soon. So the question is, if technology is so prevalent in society today then why is it not used in the classroom more? The answer is that technology is starting to become popular in classroom settings and I believe that incorporating technology in the classroom can only make lessons more informational while being interactive.

There are so many types of interactive technologies that teachers can use within the classroom to promote student learning such as PowerPoint, Near Pod, SmartBoard, Kahoot, and many more similar sources of technology. I think that teachers do not feel educated enough on the different types of technology to use them, because I felt that way before I attended Liberty University’s Education 240 class. The class consisted of teaching future educators like myself why it is so important to use technology in the classroom, how to use the different sources of technology, and how to incorporate that technology into everyday classroom life. The different technologies I was given the opportunity to become familiar with consist of the list written above (PowerPoint, Near Pod, SmartBoard and Kahoot) and when I become an educator I desire to make incorporating technology into my classroom everyday because it presents so many benefits for young learners.


Screen Shot 2015-10-28 at 10.06.54 AM

Screen Shot 2015-11-02 at 12.05.22 PM

These pictures are of me teaching a lesson reviewing the functions of The Five Senses using SmartBoard Technology in the first photo, and the second picture is of myself using SmartBoard Software to teach about Rhyming Words. 

Leave a comment